log .003 - didnt cross my mind.

saturday, June 24, 2023

i find it quite cool that certain things are just working in the way that I just never thought of. i was talking to my bro about why there isn't a notepad app that just comes natively on the meta quest 2 but apparently, its nothing more than just sideloading your favorite notepad app and hooking up your keyboard either through usb-c or bluetooth.


I've also found that using the hand tracking that you can turn on in the headset's settings, combined with the keyboard makes for a pretty good enough combo to get writing and stuff done on this thing. which is kind of amazing. I haven't tried it recently, but the last time i tried to use the website wordpress editor, Gutenberg i think is what its called, but it was just so laggy it was hard for me to use. but I'm thinking of finding a simple html notepad app i can sideload with sidequest and hopefully multitask with it plus two browser tabs for music and maybe like a reference browser. worst case scenario, i just use three browser tabs. i just wish the meta quest os was a little more fleshed out. for example it would be kind of better imo if instead of having to "long press" like on mobile phones to "right click", since we have hand tracking why not have an interaction for the middle finger press for right click and have the pointer finger press be the left clicks. sounds pretty self explanatory.

i guess its just a little sad to think that we finally have standalone operating systems' for vr headsets and the first most important thing that was made sure to be on there was the shop app for kids to buy games from it

log .002 - dayjob stuff

thursday, June 22, 2023

well, right after making the website, the dayjob ramped up in difficulty for a couple of days there, so i haven't had much time to work on the ol' site. normally i wouldn't really talk about my job but it was the best kind of busy where I actually had to somewhat be creative. My boss essentially said we needed a mascot for our newspaper company and after much deliberation, one repurposed satin pillow and gutted children's toys we have arrived at the concept of what our mascot is to be.

Fast forward a bit and now I have bought plans to make a Jim Henson-esque puppet version of our mascot to be used for "the TikToks" as my boss put it. This could go really well for us or so incredibly wrong...

Dayjob unrelated, i very much seem to be in some sort of creative rut with my game projects. I can boot up unity and do a small task everyday but after doing said small task, like modeling a minor item, i almost immediately fall for current day vices. these days, it seems to be Tales of Arise, and Cyberpunk 2077. I've been told not to worry about it too much, but as I'm sure a lot of y'all know, it just ain't that easy.

Thinking of strategies to help my creative juices start a flowin' and wondering how I did it before... and i remembered the times i just drew my oc's for drawings' sake. so sometime during my lunch break I'm going to try to do something like in my anime/tumblr style.

On a somewhat unrelated/related note, i think i just realized that this is how i've gotten into the habit of burning out and instead of resting and coming back to the same project; I looked for inspiration elsewhere, maybe in a different project and got so immersed in it that the last project was left abandoned. Gotta stop doing that. Regardless I think drawing characters like i used to will be a good thing to try getting back into.

I'm thinking I'll edit in a small preview here that links to a quick and dirty gallery type page on here. I've seen a couple of them on others' website and it looks cool as heck.

Anybut, until next post!

log .001 - i got distracted...

monday, June 19, 2023

I got a little ahead of myself looking at templates and layouts for this website. Before i knew it I was looking into css frameworks and accidentally almost deep-diving into another space that sounds kind of interesting.

In the end i ended up opting for a simplish style that has 3 columns and is basically not really going to have a bunch of bells and whistles. I really do want to give the 'site some kind of pixel-art vibe but for now, I just want to get the 20% that gives the 80 for this website.

That being said, I do want to try to keep it a little stylish. Also recently, i've really been into foreign(to me) homepages that are basically just a list of links to the blog post. Might try to get that kind of thing for here.


As for the 3 column thing, idk i think it looks cool. it could also be a product of me working at the newspaper for a couple years now. Maybe the columns have grown on me. one 'nother reason i suppose is because it looks decent on a phone that is horizontal. i'm not too sure if there are any people who even browse the net on their phones in horizontal mode anymore but it looks pretty neat having a bunch of copy that looks semi formatted in an old newspaper-y format on the web with an oldish approach to web development. it kinda tickles me.
But yep! this is it as far as layout goes with the website. just goin to keep it like this and truck along with posting.
Something i'm seeing around with these diy websites is that a lot of them almost have like a manifesto listing reasons why the website owner is going about the whole thing this way, and while that does sound neat, even bohemian, i think i'll just sit with my thoughts for a bit before i shout my latest thesis or personality type i'm trying to emulate.
anyhow here's to basically a new blog platform! hopefully this stripped down, not as profit-driven version of social media will be a healthier version that enables me for a more self-paced content creation process.